Research Scholarships

The Sir Robin Irvine Scholarship this year was awarded to Penelope Clendon from the University of Canterbury to identify processes controlling the production of meitwater on the McMurdo Ice Shelf and to map predictive areas of ice melting.

The New Zealand Post Scholarship was awarded to Patrick Maher from Lincoln University to study the values held by visitors to Antarctica and how these values change with Antarctic experience.

The Kelly Tarlton's Scholarship was awarded to Angela McGaughran from Waikato University to describe patterns of biodiversity in terrestrial invertebrates (such as springtails and mites) from study sites in the Victoria and Wright Valleys using traditional morphology-based taxonomic and molecular approaches.

Return to Home Page